Skip to content
Hereford Counts — Hereford, in numbers.Local help →

Hereford · England

People and living standards

Herefordshire, County of council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Herefordshire, County of

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Herefordshire, County of local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 160,430 in 1991 to 192,539 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Herefordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 166,557 people in 1996; 192,539 people in 2025. 15.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Herefordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991160,430
1992162,055
1993163,517
1994165,165
1995165,941
1996166,557
1997168,466
1998171,014
1999171,997
2000173,612
2001174,885
2002175,258
2003175,648
2004176,033
2005176,587
2006178,103
2007179,930
2008181,791
2009182,367
2010182,865
2011183,619
2012184,208
2013184,748
2014185,523
2015185,778
2016186,225
2017186,687
2018186,511
2019186,373
2020185,886
2021187,522
2022188,873
2023190,940
2024192,067
2025192,539
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Herefordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 33,135 people in 1996; 29,822 people in 2025. 10% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Herefordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199131,290
199231,875
199332,417
199432,955
199533,094
199633,135
199733,381
199833,802
199933,951
200033,984
200134,011
200233,681
200333,540
200433,178
200532,828
200632,325
200731,928
200831,770
200931,596
201031,452
201131,353
201231,319
201331,310
201431,145
201530,934
201630,712
201730,679
201830,669
201930,398
202030,036
202129,818
202229,950
202330,175
202430,046
202529,822
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Herefordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 101,947 people in 1996; 109,993 people in 2025. 7.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Herefordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199199,541
1992100,226
1993100,715
1994101,381
1995101,624
1996101,947
1997103,212
1998104,871
1999105,317
2000106,403
2001107,223
2002107,449
2003107,587
2004107,814
2005108,332
2006110,096
2007111,871
2008113,101
2009113,111
2010112,891
2011112,890
2012112,072
2013111,461
2014111,201
2015110,948
2016110,744
2017110,400
2018109,484
2019108,695
2020107,954
2021108,824
2022108,970
2023109,945
2024110,239
2025109,993
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Herefordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 31,475 people in 1996; 52,724 people in 2025. 67.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Herefordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199129,599
199229,954
199330,385
199430,829
199531,223
199631,475
199731,873
199832,341
199932,729
200033,225
200133,651
200234,128
200334,521
200435,041
200535,427
200635,682
200736,131
200836,920
200937,660
201038,522
201139,376
201240,817
201341,977
201443,177
201543,896
201644,769
201745,608
201846,358
201947,280
202047,896
202148,880
202249,953
202350,820
202451,782
202552,724
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 187,032 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Herefordshire, County of · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh2,2181.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African5670.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,9801.1%
White181,24896.9%
Other ethnic group1,0190.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 183,477 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Herefordshire, County of · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White180,16998.2%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,2700.7%
Asian/Asian British1,4390.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3310.2%
Other ethnic group2680.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 174,871 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Herefordshire, County of · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White173,29599.1%
Mixed6950.4%
Asian/Asian British3350.2%
Black/Black British1700.1%
Chinese/Other3760.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 0.3% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Herefordshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,206 per person in 1997; £26,031 per person in 2024. 155.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Herefordshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,206
199810,628
199910,854
200011,309
200111,861
200212,194
200312,688
200413,306
200513,684
200614,443
200714,715
200815,169
200915,616
201016,052
201116,458
201216,752
201317,492
201417,815
201518,775
201618,983
201719,261
201819,971
201920,945
202021,064
202121,770
202222,743
202324,436
202426,031
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Herefordshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -3.8% in 1997; 0.3% in 2024. 4.1 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Herefordshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-3.8
1998-1.8
1999-4
2000-5
2001-4.1
2002-3.6
2003-2.7
2004-2
2005-2.7
2006-1.4
2007-4.1
2008-3.7
2009-2.5
2010-0.6
20111
2012-0.8
2013-0.1
2014-1.5
2015-1.3
2016-1.4
2017-2.2
2018-2.2
2019-0.6
20200.4
2021-0.3
2022-1
2023-0.1
20240.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

15.9%

21 March 2021 · Herefordshire, County of local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18%

21 March 2021 · Herefordshire, County of local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.2%

21 March 2021 · Herefordshire, County of local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£290,000

July 2026 · Herefordshire, County of local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£821

August 2026 · Herefordshire, County of local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.